Ridesharing Basics in Oklahoma
Ridesharing Basics in Oklahoma
Jan 7 2019 0

Ridesharing Basics in Oklahoma

Quick and convenient rides for would-be passengers are easier than ever to find now with the drastic rise in popularity of ridesharing apps such as Lyft and Uber. Part of the job for these rideshare drivers includes driving responsibly and safely at all times. On-the-clock drivers who text behind the wheel, fail to obey the speed limit or neglect the traffic laws will be held liable, just like any other driver, if they become involved in an auto accident. Lyft and Uber are both responsible for checking out their new employees to ensure that they are responsible drivers who have reliable cars.

Ridesharing Basics in Oklahoma

Insurance Requirements for Rideshare Companies

Car insurance can be very confusing, especially when it comes to things like the difference between liability and insurance. The main idea that people who have been injured need to comprehend is that these ridesharing companies are usually not considered to be responsible for their driver’s actions. The reason for this is that their employees are regarded as independent contractors rather than full-time employees. The major ridesharing companies usually carry about $1 million in insurance coverage on the chance that there is a collision that results in someone being injured.

Whether or not your insurance carrier is responsible for the payment of your wrongful death suit, or your personal injuries hinges largely on whether or not you were a paying customer utilizing the services of a Lyft or an Uber, or you were in a different car entirely.

  • Driver insurance for injured passengers – Just the same as every other legal driver in Oklahoma, the drivers for Uber and Lyft are expected to carry at least the minimum of Oklahoma’s liability insurance specifications. If you drive or even just own a car then you are required to have $25,000 in liability coverage for a single collision victim and $50,000 for many collision victims. $25,000 of coverage for property damage will also be mandatory.
    • Driver insurance for the occupants of other cars and to pedestrians – Non-paying customers have the exact same insurance expectations as do the paying customers ($25,000/$50,000/$25,000)
  • Rideshare companies – The two companies that dominate the rideshare scene right now are Lyft and Uber. Both of these companies are required by law to have one million dollars in coverage if they have a negligent driver. The transportation services company is not obligated to pay out any more than one million dollars unless they were proven to be directly responsible for the collision. An example of direct negligence in this situation would be if the company was aware of the fact that one of their employees had a suspended driver’s license but they were allowed to go ahead and continue working anyways.
  • Uninsured/underinsurance coverage –  Any person who sustains an injury due to the carelessness of a rideshare driver has the freedom to ask that their own insurance carrier be the one to pay out any losses that were not included in their third-party liability insurance coverage, up to the limits on their uninsured/underinsured motorist policy.

Here at the McGuire Law Firm, our Lyft and Uber accident attorneys have negotiated many tough settlements and received fair and proper outcomes for many car accident victims and their families as well. Our legal team routinely obtains favorable verdicts for our clients because we work hard from the beginning to examine exactly why the collision occurred and what steps should have been taken to stop you receiving your injuries. We insist that rideshare companies, drivers, and their insurance companies pay all the damages that you deserve. If you would be interested in receiving a free consultation with an attorney here in our Oklahoma office, then please go ahead and give us a call at (405) 513-5658.

You Might Also Like
Ridesharing Basics in Oklahoma