Obtaining justice when the driver at fault lacks insurance coverage
How exasperating it is to find out that the driver who damaged your vehicle and injured you happens to be uninsured? Unfortunately, such a discovery is pretty common. According to AAA Oklahoma, the rate of uninsured drivers in the state is somewhere between 20 and 30 percent. When these irresponsible motorists get into accidents, they do even more harm by complicating your path to recovery.
The McGuire Law Firm has more than 23 years of experience in accident cases, many of which have involved uninsured and underinsured motorists.
Underinsured drivers: when the prescribed minimum isn’t enough
Many drivers carry only the minimum amount of liability insurance prescribed by law, which in most states is 25/50/25, meaning:
- A maximum of $25,000 for the physical injury or death of a single person
- A maximum of $50,000 for the physical injury or death of more than one person
- A maximum of $25,000 for property damage
If these totals seem low compared to hospital costs, compensation for wrongful death or the replacement cost of a mint condition car, you’re right. The statutory minimum is woefully inadequate coverage for a serious accident. If you’re hit by one of these underinsured motorists, you need to consult an experienced Oklahoma City underinsured accident attorney if you hope to be fully compensated.
Speak to a knowledgeable Oklahoma City uninsured and underinsured accident lawyer
Learning that the driver who hit you is not insured adds even more anxiety to an already stressful situation. The McGuire Law Firm can address any concerns you have about pursuing a claim. There’s never an upfront charge to come by and speak to a McGuire attorney about your accident. To schedule a time, call us at 888-352-0624 or contact our office online.