What To Do If You Are In An Accident With An Uninsured Driver?
It happens to thousands of people a day. You are stopped at a red light like the good, law-abiding citizen you are. The light turns green, you look both ways, ease onto the gas and out into the intersection when BAM!!! A car that ran the red light smashes into you causing you serious property damage and a few injuries. Badly shaken, but grateful to be alive you take a few deep breaths to steady yourself. At least the accident was clearly not your fault. You won’t be held financially liable for the damages to the car and, based on the pain shooting up your back, what are sure to be exorbitant medical bills.
But what if the other driver doesn’t have insurance?
Oklahoma Insurance Coverage Laws
Oklahoma has an uninsured motorist rate of 12.3%, slightly lower than the national average of 12.6%, and infinitely better than Florida’s 26.7%. This translates to roughly one in 10 drivers on the road with absolutely no insurance coverage. The laws in Oklahoma do mandate that all drivers carry insurance minimums of 25/50/25 in liability in case of a car accident. What this means is that the most bare bones of insurance policies must have a minimum of $25,000 for injuries per person, $50,000 for total injuries per accident, and $25,000 for property damages. When all is said and done, the average Oklahoma resident spends $823.51 a year on car insurance, which is quite high compared to a lot of other states. Even if you are carrying all the proper insurance limits, if you have been injured by an uninsured motorist it is imperative that you seek representation from a personal injury attorney right away.
What To Do After the Car Accident
Obtain a police report: Never, ever leave the scene of an accident. Just as in any other car accident you need to call the police and wait for them to arrive. Not only is it the law but the report they write could be an invaluable tool later on if you end up taking the uninsured driver to court.
Check your coverage: Familiarize yourself with the terms of your current auto policy. If your policy covers uninsured or underinsured motorists then the maximum amount you can claim through insurance will be stated in your coverage limits. If you do not have this coverage then your best bet is to file a personal injury suit against the uninsured driver. While Oklahoma is a no-fault state, the law will still allow you to pursue a personal injury claim in certain situations.
Hire an attorney: Trying to prepare a lawsuit without the assistance of a qualified attorney is ill-advised at best. You need an experienced professional in your corner, fighting for you and making sure that your rights are protected all the way through. Many people do not have car insurance because they cannot afford it. This means that even if you win your case you may still need the assistance of an attorney to collect your money via wage garnishments or some other method.
The attorneys here at McGuire Law Firm we have more than 30 years of experience helping people who have been injured in traffic accidents here in Oklahoma get the compensation that they are entitled to under the law. If you or someone that you love has been injured in a car accident, you may be entitled to receive reimbursement for things such as medical bills, lost wages from having to miss work, and pain and suffering. If you would like to receive a free consultation with one of our qualified reputable personal injury attorneys regarding your motorcycle accident case, then please give us a call at (405) 513-5658 and speak with someone in our Oklahoma office today.