Car insurance can be, so it is no surprise that not everyone chooses to buy car insurance. However, in Oklahoma, car insurance is a legal requirement. If you are caught without this insurance, you may face legal trouble including fines and jail time. Even more concerning is what to do if an uninsured driver hits your car. If you find yourself in a legal bind because the driver who hit you has no insurance, contact the car accident attorneys at Kent Mcguire Law to protect your rights.
Oklahoma Car Insurance Laws
Oklahoma requires everyone to have car insurance partially because a lack of car insurance can place a substantial and significant financial burden on the victim when they’re in a car wreck themselves or with another driver. The costs of medical bills, car repair, and, potentially, a lawsuit can greatly diminish someone’s finances. With all of these potential costs, an insurance policyholder needs to be certain that the insurance company they choose covers certain criteria.
These insurance policies typically include liability insurance like $25,000 for injury or death per person, $50,000 for multiple people, and $25,000 for damages to property. What this coverage does is provide the insured with financial protection against multiple possibilities that often result from a car wreck. There are also extra types of coverage including:
- Collision: covers damages of your car
- Comprehensive: covers damages other than what results from car accidents (natural disaster, vandalism)
- Medical payments: covers car accident medical expenses
- Uninsured motorist: covers your costs if you are hit by an uninsured driver
Protection Against Uninsured Drivers
Uninsured coverage is available to most car insurance holders and should not be taken for granted. Filing a lawsuit against a negligent driver who hit your car is substantially harder if that reckless driver has no insurance. Someone without insurance likely does not have the financial assets to cover your medical costs and other expenses related to the accident. While there are other legal ways around this, uninsured coverage can cover up to $50,000 of damages and alleviate a lot of the worry.
Penalties of Not Having Car Insurance
If you are caught in Oklahoma without car insurance, then you may be fined up to $250.00, spend 30 days in jail, have your driver’s license revoked, and have your vehicle registration suspended. If you are the uninsured driver who hit another driver, you will suffer all those penalties and may go into debt if you are successfully sued by the other driver.
When to Seek Lawyer Help
If you were hit by an uninsured driver, then an Oklahoma insurance lawyer can help you obtain fair compensation without the struggle of all the legal difficulties that surround uninsured drivers.
Oklahoma Car Accident Injury Attorney
The car accident insurance lawyers at Kent McGuire Law possess the knowledge and training needed to build a strong case for your defense. If you are struggling to pay the medical bills or damages after a car wreck that you believe you were not responsible for, contact the best Oklahoma lawyers at Kent McGuire Law by dialing (405) 513-5658 for a free consultation.